Little Things Mean A Lot

I remember a note pinned to a pair of socks in my duffel that read “I love you and will miss you. Mom.” I read this note during summer vacation at my Father’s House my 2nd grade year of school. Mom and Dad divorced during winter break of my 2nd grade year. Needless to say my life was filled with turmoil wanting to be with both my parents. That was impossible after our move to Illinois and Dad’s remarriage in Texas.

I found the note pinned to my socks at a time that I was so miserable and homesick that I thought I would die. Just reading that note calmed my heart knowing my mom was still thinking of me even though she was over a thousand miles away.

Through the years I’ve learned that little things are important: Telling your wife and children “I love you.” Holding a door open for the old man at the grocery store. Picking up a piece of discarded paper off the playground. Giving the last piece of pie to your sister even though you love pie more than she does.

We should never underestimate the power of little things. Listen to the prophet “Do not despise the day of small things” (Zechariah 4:10). What we may believe is small could be  huge in the eyes of God. It was from the tiny town of Bethlehem that the King of Glory would come forth.

Take a little time to do a kind deed that could make all the difference in world for a person who needs kindness.

Little drops of water,
Little grains of sand,
Make the mighty ocean
And the pleasant land.

Thus the little minutes,
Humble though they be,
Make the mighty ages
Of eternity.

Thus our little errors
Make a mighty sin;
Drop by drop the evil
Floods the heart within.

Little deeds of kindness,
Little words of love,
Make our earth an Eden,
Like the heaven above.
— Ascribed to Julia A. F. Carney

Explore posts in the same categories: christian living, Divine Nature, Kindness

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

