My Uncontrollable Tongue

The lips of the righteous know what is acceptable,
but the mouth of the wicked, what is perverse.”

It is amazing to me how such a dangerous, uncontrollable thing can live within our bodies.  No one is immune to the dangers of the tongue.  As a preacher I am aware of how powerful words are.  I realize the dangers of speaking lies, crude jesting, gossip, false witness, discouraging words but fall prey to the misuse of my tongue far more often than I should.

Sadly, I still have to review my conversations and the words spoken in haste and then go back and repent for angry words, unkind words and inappropriate talking.  These sins happen so fast that it is easy to do harm before we even think about what we are saying.

Today I pray that I will will learn to be gracious in speech, careful with my words and certain that what I say brings glory to Jesus.  I also beg forgiveness for letting my tongue be uncontrolled.

“O be careful little lips what you say,
O be careful little lips what you say,
For the Father up above is
Looking down in love
So be careful little lips what you say.

Joe Chase


Explore posts in the same categories: christian living, Encouragement

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “My Uncontrollable Tongue”

  1. Eden Says:

    Very very true. It is an area I have perpetual issues with. Blessings!

    Eden

    Thorns and Myrtles
    edenellis.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

