Grass Stains and Cleansing

One of the things that infuriated my mother was grass stains on freshly washed school clothes or worse yet church clothes.  It never seemed to fail that every warning “don’t you get anything on these pants you’ve got to look nice for church”, was answered with a great big patch of green on the knee.  I guess I was more of a clumsy child than most but keeping anything stain free was a near impossibility no matter how short the wearing time.

By the time I was 6 years old we all had our daily chores and the special Saturday clean everything in the house day burdens.  As years went by my chore list became more and and more involved as my skill level increased.  By the time I was 9 or 10 I got to help on laundry day.  I soon discovered why mom was so upset about grass stains on the knees of my pants.  We didn’t have an automatic wash machine.  We used a rub board and eventually a wringer washer.  Stains were no holiday to get out of clothing on a rub board.  That old blue bar soap, bleach and elbow grease were the only way to get them out.  Sometimes after washday our hands would be so raw and cracked that they would actually bleed.

I think about sin and how it stains the souls of men.  There is no easy cleansing for sin.  It took the the precious life-blood of Jesus to wash them away.  It took his beaten, battered and torn flesh to wash out the stains of my sins.

Sin is not something we can take lightly when we think of what horrible pain is involved in removing it from our lives.  When I learned the cost of every grass stain I soon learned to be careful.  Now that I know the cost of every sin stain should I not be even more careful?

“Come now, let us reason together, says the Lord:
though your sins are like scarlet,
they shall be as white as snow;
though they are red like crimson,
they shall become like wool.
If you are willing and obedient,
you shall eat the good of the land;” (Isaiah 1:18,19)

Explore posts in the same categories: christian living

Leave a Reply

