Getting Along

My childhood memories are filled with the joys of arguments with my sisters.  It brought me great pleasure to needle them to the point of explosion.  It seemed all my sisters had large red buttons that read “PUSH ME”.  I obliged them as often as possible.  Often that chicanery and misdemeanory spilled over to others as well.  Picking on people for sport became a treasured past time for me.  I’ve come home from school on many occasions with either a black eye, or a paddled behind as payment for taking things a bit too far with people of little tolerance for my sport.

Surprisingly, turns out people don’t like being picked on as much as I like picking on them.  I learned I would have to dial back my pursuits to irritate everyone in the world if I was going to have any friends or more importantly influence people for good.

The Lord expects us to win souls into the Kingdom.  Much of the skill in doing this requires getting along with people.  I believe Paul put it perfectly…

“Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.” (Philippians 2:3-4).

The key is to try to treat others with respect, kindness and love. Like Jesus told us “…whatever you wish that others would do to you, do also to them…” (Matthew 7:12). Getting along with people paves the way for us to share with them the peace that Jesus provides to all mankind.

I hope I have put away childish things as I try to “get along” with everybody.  The higher calling is “to do good to all men especially those of the household of faith.”

Lord, please guide my life to get along with people in such a way that I can show them your love, your hope for their salvation.  This is my prayer through Jesus.

Explore posts in the same categories: christian living, Friendship, Kindness

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

