Becoming Less

Theodore Monod penned the lyric “None of Self and All of Thee.” That song has always been a hard one for me to sing with complete honesty. It is a lot like “I Surrender All.” I believe you can sing a lie as easily as tell one. The very genesis of sin is selfishness. We are often seeking “What do I want today.”

It is a purposeful person who seeks the Lord over self. The life of “More of Thee” is certainly one of self-denial. How do I learn to seek God first and then my own desires? How do I develop my mind to put away desire for selfish pursuits and fulfillments? I’ll admit that I am not really that good at it. Far too often I put my wants ahead of my duty to God. My weakness shames me more often than I like to admit.

The writer of Hebrews tells us of a few power things that will help us live “self-controlled, upright, and godly lives in the present age” (Titus 2:12)

 

  1. The Powerful Word of God (Hebrews 4:12). Spend time treasuring up the word of God will help us not to sin (Psalm 119:11). Bible knowledge and obedience sets us free (John 8:32). God’s book certainly reveals to us how to “flee lust” (2 Tim 2:22), hold fast to righteousness and scriptural instruction (2 Thes 2:15). It is an anchor to bind our affections to the Lord. Daily use of God’s Word will certainly help us to give less attention to our evil desires and more to the Lord’s will.
  2. God’s All Seeing Eye (Hebrews 4:13). Knowing that God watches us should give us pause before we jump into selfish, self-willed living. As children we were much better behaved when our parents watched than when they were absent. Remember also that God is not watching us to just to crush us for wickedness. He is there to help us live better.
  3. The Great High Priest Jesus (Hebrews 4:14, 15). Jesus offered sacrifice for our sins. He is in the presence of God working on our behalf. This perfect high priest who is the source of our salvation written in his innocent blood (Heb 5:9; Acts 4:11,12; 1 Peter 1:18,19). You could never ask for greater help or motivation for putting God first. Gratitude for all that Jesus is doing will drive us to submission more and more as we contemplate it.
  4. The Power of Prayer (Hebrews 4:16). Don’t discount the help that comes from asking the Father for help. He loves to give to us all things that pertain to life and godliness (Jam 1:5; 17; 2 Pet 1:3). If we ask anything in the name of Christ we can receive it (Luke 11:19; John 16:23). Try asking God to help you become less you will receive grace to become just that.

 

Through Jesus I ask you Father please help me put you and your reign in my life first. Help my desires to dissipate while a love for you flourishes. Thank you for all the help you’ve already provided.

 

Oh, the bitter pain and sorrow
That a time could ever be,
When I proudly said to Jesus,
“All of self, and none of Thee.”
All of self, and none of Thee,
All of self, and none of Thee,
When I proudly said to Jesus,
“All of self, and none of Thee.”

Yet He found me; I beheld Him
Bleeding on th’ accursed tree,
And my wistful heart said faintly,
“Some of self, and some of Thee.”
Some of self, and some of Thee,
Some of self, and some of Thee,
And my wistful heart said faintly,
“Some of self, and some of Thee.”

Day by day His tender mercy,
Healing, helping, full and free,
Brought me lower while I whispered,
“Less of self, and more of Thee.”
Less of self, and more of Thee,
Less of self, and more or Thee,
Brought me lower while I whispered,
“Less of self, and more of Thee.”

Higher than the highest heaven,
Deeper than the deepest sea,
Lord, Thy love at last has conquered:
None of self, and all of Thee.”
None of self, and all of Thee,
None of self, and all of Thee,
Lord, Thy love at last has conquered:
None of self, and all of Thee.”

 

If you need prayer or help serving the Lord please contact me at Contact Me By Email


 

Explore posts in the same categories: christian living

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

