A Sinner’s Prayer

So often we’ve heard about the sinner’s prayer. Most often that refers to a prayer that many believe will bring salvation to the sinner. I am not convinced that any such prayer is possible, there are too many Scriptures that teach a series of things are necessary for the salvation of our souls.

However, I am not convinced that sinners should not pray. I am not persuaded that we ever reach a point in our lives that we are truly sinless. I do believe we can be in covenant relationship with the God of heaven and He cleanses us from all sin as we follow the savior who walks in the light (1 John 1:7-9). Never believe that the privilege of forgiveness is freedom to sin:

What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin that grace may abound? By no means! How can we who died to sin still live in it? (Romans 6:1-2)

Today, I hope all of us will be humble enough to ask the Lord for forgiveness of our sins. I pray that all men will submit to the commands of the Lord necessary to enter His kingdom. It is then that we are assured of answers to our prayers (James 5:16). I am reminded of the beautiful old hymn that lays out the contrite heart of a sinner before God.

Dear Lord and Father of mankind,
Forgive our foolish ways;
Reclothe us in our rightful mind,
In purer lives Thy service find,
In deeper reverence, praise.

My prayer today is that God will forgive my failings, my stubbornness to change my heart to be like His. I ask Him for a clearer mind to serve Him better while I leave behind the mundane thoughts and deeds of worldliness. That He will help my sinfulness to become faithfulness to His service.

Joseph D. Chase

Explore posts in the same categories: Prayer

Leave a Reply

